Menu
Be sure to bookmark our new website, as this website will become unavailable after October 2023. Thank you.
Association of College & University libraries (ACRL) Standard #4 addresses issues of collection development, programs and services. Librarians and library staff shall develop collections and provide programs and services that are inclusive of the needs of all persons in the community the library serves.
Materials purchased by the NCC library are to support academic course offerings and must reflect the many facets and dimensions of diversity. The goal is to create collections that are open, receptive to feedback, and transparent. In addition, collection strategies and services must be comprehensive and ongoing to ensure patrons are supported throughout their education and research. Creating opportunities for discovery and access to authoritative information will result in responsible and active citizenship not only in our community but throughout the world.
Current editions of textbooks used in classes are not added to the circulating collection, except when such books are the best and latest sources available. A limited supply of course textbooks for the reserve collection is funded through a special arrangement with the bookstore.
Requests for resources from the NCC community are welcome and are given careful consideration.
Baker Library is pleased to accept gifts of books, equipment, and other resources that support the mission of the library and complement its collections. Your thoughtful gift is much appreciated, and all gifts receive careful consideration by library staff. If you would like to make a donation, please submit a list of the available items, including the title, author, publication date, edition, and format (paperback, hardback, etc.). Library staff will assess which items are suitable for our collection.
Donated items must be in good to excellent condition. No damaged or moldy items will be accepted. Textbooks are accepted only if they support NCC’s curriculum and are less than five years old. Bootleg or homemade copies are not accepted. Computer software, original or copied, is not accepted. Magazines and journals are accepted only if the library needs to fill in missing issues. Unsolicited items from publishers or trade vendors are accepted only if they are of academic quality and support the college’s curriculum and the library’s collection. The library will not return unsolicited items at the library’s expense.
If a donated item is accepted and added to the collection, donors will receive a receipt and a letter from the library director acknowledging their gift. The dollar value of the donated materials is not defined.
Gift materials are given to the library without condition. Baker Library reserves all rights to determine addition to the collection. If you have any questions about donating materials, please email the library via the Contact the Library link on our main webpage.
Baker Library retains only one copy of each title/edition, unless a specific need is known. Materials that are selected to be withdrawn from the collection must meet at least one of the following criteria:
The library director will meet with any person who wishes to make a formal request for removal of a specific item or materials from the library collection. If the individual wishes to pursue the challenge, the library director will request of said individual a formal letter indicating the reasons for the complaint. Upon receipt of the letter, the director will meet with the appropriate administrators for discussion. The library user may be asked to participate in the discussion, in order to seek resolution of the complaint.
